Thoughts on La Vie d’Adele (obvs spoilers)

Note: this is an undrafted post, written straight from my tablet using Blogsy.

I couldn’t finish watching La Vie d’Adele without bawling my eyes out.

SEX! Whole 7 minutes of it! This may be the film’s selling point for some. But please do allow me to be pretentious by explaining how I got interested in this and why I liked it.

In my defense, two words: Léa Seydoux. I’ll watch anything with this mademoiselle in it – even the Prada Candy ads on Youtube, no matter how silly they get. I’ve mentioned this in my previous post regarding the graphic novel this film was adapted from so feel free to use the search bar. It’s pretty shallow, but I got crazy the moment I heard she was going to be in it.

One aspect of the film was coming out. However, it comprises only a small smart of it, defining the film as such would be doing it injustice.

Not that I’ve seen a lot of artsy French films, but after all the rave about Kechiche’s amazing ability with capturing emotions I was certainly expecting to get blown away. Most especially after seeing the trailers.

And the film delivered. Not mainly because a lot of scenes were dramatic (in fact there is a fair number of scenes where nothing apparent is happening, up to you to speculate) but whenever emotions are required, they are done intensely. Merci, Kechiche. But thank you even more, Adele.

Adele Exarchopoulos IS the star of this film.

I was going to post a screen shot of my favourite scene, but that may reveal my *eherm* unorthodox way of seeing this film. I live in the Philippines, nuff said.

Anyway, in that scene Emma (Seydoux) and Adele are in a cafe with noticeably blue interiors. It’s the first time they are meeting after Emma threw Adele out, the latter all dressed up obviously still not over the other and still holding on to the hopes of getting her back.

There are brilliant scenes in the movie, but in this particular one there was no holding back for Adele. She was crying with snot flowing down her nose and the camera was rolling. Who gave a damn about glamorous tears.

And I also liked how the two characters were contrasted in terms of background, tastes and hopes as if these may make or break their relationship. Adele had a very simple background with very realistic expectations. Emma, on the other hand had an artsy tasteful background where one should do whatever he/she is passionate with.

The contrasts between the simple bolognese and the fresh oysters + white wine, the girl who can only name Picasso and the fine arts student, did not lead to the end of their relationship. Just as euphoria and self discovery drew Adele and Emma closer; Loneliness, pressure and infidelity broke them up which can be pretty true in relationships whether straight or gay.

The ending of the film is different from the graphic novel. In the graphic novel. Adele/Clementine died literally from a broken heart.

In the film, Adele just walks down the street in her blue dress, away from Emma’s exhibit, leaving me as a viewer wondering whether she’d find a similar love or an even better one. Je ne sais pas. C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

