When Women Were Warriors Review

I’m not yet confident of my comprehension in writing reviews as I have the tendency to include spoilers. Moving on…

In June, I came across a free ebook download of a book by Catherine M. Wilson because I was so sick of female characters being no more than the damsel in distress.

Cover1

I loved the books very much, that I feel I owe it to the author to actually say something about it and if possible, share it with as much people as I can. Reading it was a pleasant surprise. The writing style is very simple but effective enough to tell a good story.

“When Women Were Warriors” is told in the point of view of the main character Tamras who is an aspiring warrior following her family lineage. Set in the Bronze Age under a matrilineal society, women basically run things around the place and that heavily includes the fighting for security.

The main character Tamras was sent for fostering to House Merin ran by her mother’s shield friend. To Tamras’ disappointment, she was assigned as a companion to a strange warrior-an outsider- instead of being apprenticed to become warrior.

The way I might have put it must have been really boring, but what really got me going was the development of the relationship between Tamras and Maara. It started pretty hostile and slowly bloomed into a strong friendship based on trust.

I also like the diversity brought about by having the character Maara who is dark-skinned and is a stranger. As a reader, I have immediately accepted this diversity due to how the character’s POV was written.

The book also had some really clever bits like the reason “why only women were warriors” and using what you have-not what people expect you to.

There are also same sex relationships in the books, but this is simply an effect of the type of society the characters are in. In fact, it’s actually refreshing that it’s not the main issue and definitely not another coming out novel.

The only thing I did not like about the book was the lack of character description. Yes, I hate it when an author uses up a whole page describing how green the fields were but I’d also like a little assistance on picturing the other cast members.

Also, reading the whole series (one long book, divided into three parts) can be costly. The first part of the “trilogy” is free but the next two parts are at $9.99 each. I’m not complaining-it’s a good story-but most people may think twice with the price.

Can it be considered a feminist novel? Yes.

It looks like I might actually reread this tonight, after all.

 

Leave a Reply

