Candy: The New Currency

Believe it or not, we Filipinos are known all over the world as a non-complaining bunch. Before you hold your head up high, it’s nothing to be proud of.

We do not complain a lot probably because whilst growing up, we are told not to complain as it is deemed impolite. Until we become young adults, we eventually learn we need to speak up.

this blog post would not have happened if they gave me one of these (Pastillas de Leche)

One store in Bacolod was famous for giving candies when they lack centavos in their registers.

Example: if your total purchases are at Php 399.50 and you pay 400, they’d give you a piece of unwanted candy instead of 50 Cents because they’d say they don’t have enough coins to give.

endangered species

I think that popular store stopped the tradition because some got fed up and complained about them. I even heard my mum sarcastically ask the cashier if she can return the candy the next time she buys something from them.

The reason why I’m writing about this is that I feel like I got cheated earlier when I had lunch.

My breakdown was like this:

Steamed Rice: Php 6.00
Pork Chop: Php 25.00
C2 Solo: Php12.00

That’s a total of Php 43.00 for lunch. I paid 50, hoping I’d get Php 7.00 which I’d use as my jeepney fare the next day.

Guess what, I got Php 6.00 and a piece of yellow MAXX candy because wala na sila kuno piso (they don’t have enough one peso coins)…I don’t eat candy!

I should've given them forty three of these

Will the jeepney driver accept the yellow MAXX candy for my fare?

Why don’t they just round off everything to 10s and 5s if they can’t produce enough one peso coins? Are we so poor that we can’t produce these denominations anymore?

Let’s throw all our one peso coins away as they are starting to have no value anyway! Oh wait, I barely have any of them.

I think substituting candy for one peso (etc) is common here in the Philippines. Next time, I will refuse with all my might.

Still, I’ll try and give them the MAXX candy back tomorrow and I’ll let your know how it goes.

Image sources:

5 thoughts on “Candy: The New Currency

  1. Wow, that sucks. Your post just made me realize that I never experienced this while living in Manila. I may be wrong, but it seems like a very unique practice in Bacolod/Negros. And I understand fully about complaining. People will say the complaining person is maldita and probably spit in your food the next time around =(

    Plus, indi bala ang Maxx tag 3 for P1? Or was that only during my generation? =P

    Good luck talking to them tomorrow….

    1. It’s not exactly unique in Negros as this happened in Cebu. It was even harder for me to complain as I am just learning Bisaya. (There should be a Reklamo in Bisaya 101 or something)

      Piso na ang candies subong…gone were the tatlo duwa days 😛

      anyway, thanks for leaving a comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

