Free Blackberry Applications I Am Grateful For

Here is a list of free third party Blackberry apps I can’t live without, in no particular order.

1. Nimbuzz

Nimbuzz integrates several IM apps into one. Facebook already has chat integrated into its BB app but Nimbuzz still beats it. Nimbuzz works over wifi too.

Link to my most read post about Nimbuzz

2. Twitter for Blackberry

Twitter already is one of the many ways one can receive instant updates. I didn’t have any access to television during the crisis in Japan and Twitter really proved itself useful. Just make sure you follow the right accounts.

I know a lot of people prefer Ubersocial but I still like Twitter Mobile. Due to its nice and ad-free interface. Ubersocial can be ad free too but you have to purchase a licence for the app first.

3. TuneIn

It’s free, it works over wifi and streams radio stations from all over the world into your phone.

Link to my TuneIn Article

4. Google Maps

The first time I came here in Cebu, I barely got lost. Google maps does not work over wifi for obvious reasons. All you need is a good mobile network and a data plan, you’re good to go. (Hey, it can even show you where you currently are)

5. Jobstreet

Jobstreet is one of the most popular job sites in the Philippines. I got hired twice over Jobstreet. Now it’s even handier for soul searchers to find the right job on their mobile through this app.

6. Opera Mini

Everyone agrees browsing through Opera Mini is better than in the native browser. The only downside is that you can’t make it your default browser as it does not support data transfer.

7. WordPress

The experience of blogging on your laptop is still over all better than squeezing your thoughts into your mobile’s screen. But when I was in Manila for a week and had to leave my laptop in BCD, I found the WordPress app savvy for on the spot blog updates.

8. The River Test

The only game amongst the apps listed here, I sometimes use this app to perk up a going downhill coffee date with random friends. Not only it is fun, it also helps you develop your logic skills. (there are fixed winning combinations but then, where’s the fun in that?)

9. Dropbox

This is very useful when your computer does not have a built in Bluetooth device or when you don’t have your Blackberry’s USB cord anywhere.

My Dropbox Article here

Do you have any free useful apps for Blackberry in mind? Leave a comment below. I would be more than glad to read your suggestions. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

