Bookworm for Bookworms: An online EPUB reader

What’s a good .ePub reader? EPUB stands for electronic publication and is the format for several reading materials for the iPad, Kindle etc.

logo from bookworm.oreilly.com

I’m not a fan of eBooks (I’m a die-hard paperback fan) so I don’t use my computer for reading, nor am I interested in eReaders like the iPad or Kindle.

There are times though, when the book you are looking for might not be available physically so there is a need to resort to acquiring an eBook.

Ebooks used to be in PDF form. Having the Adobe Reader installed in your computer already enables you to read its contents.

I tried downloading Ken Follett’s “Pillars of the Earth” last week and behold, it was not in PDf format. Instead it was an .ePub file. Being less of a tech genius I am becoming everyday, I resorted to converting the ePub file to PDF. It was readable but the format was terrible.

It’s because ePubs are made so that they are readable in handheld devices, thus the huge letters in narrow pages.

So I went over the ever famous Google to search for a basic ePub reader for my computer. That’s how I found Bookworm which is an online ePub reader.

Much like Dropbox in terms of uploading and storing files online, only this time they only allow files in ePub format. (read my Dropbox review here)

You don’t need to install it in your computer. Just go to bookworm.oreilly.com, sign up for an account and upload away!

Because it is an online ePub reader, you can access your favourite books or reading materials from any computer (be it your personal computer, work, school, or your neighbour’s) as long as there is an Internet connection.

The site is very light too. You have the option to increase or decrease the text size. Another cool addition is the ability to switch from serif to sans and vice versa.

You can also change reading modes by clicking the “double square” icon located near the top right corner of your screen.

Basically, it hides or shows the website header and the left sidebar, leaving you with just the current page, size, font and reading mode options. The paragraph widths also adjust with your browser window.

Other reading mode

It is also available in Mobile version should you need to access it with, of course, your Mobile device.

There is another reader that I like that’s also free. It’s called EPUBReader and is a Firefox add-on. I will write about that in my next post!

Have a good weekend everyone! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

